learning to "blum"

A blog about my time in the education department at Luther College.

Keeping up with 3rd Grade

on January 13, 2014

I am sitting at Panera Bread with a caramel latte in front of me. On the table is my laptop, lesson plans, assessment plans, unit 7 of the Math Trailblazers curriculum, and various writing utensils. I’m sure half the time I’ve been sitting here I’ve had a goofy smile on my face. I feel like a teacher, and boy does it feel good.

At Luther, we do a methods practicum the year before we student teach. I have been placed in a third grade classroom in Dubuque, IA. This practicum takes place throughout the month of January and we are to teach a 5-7 day unit in the classroom we have been placed in. I wanted to keep my blog up to date in order to remember my experience.

I was extremely nervous to begin my first day in the classroom. The amount of sleep I got the night before was close to none. About a million thoughts were running through my mind… What if my CT (cooperating teacher) thinks I am a bad teacher? What if the kids hate me? What if I’m not ready for this? What will the school be like? I’m happy to say that many of my thoughts were eased the second I stepped into the classroom. The first 2 days in the classroom were great. I was able to learn a lot about my students and my CT. The students in the classroom are great kids. There are 19 students in the class (14 boys and 5 girls). I noticed quickly the amount of diversity in the classroom. This classroom is busy, busy, busy. There are students leaving for reinforcement throughout the day, a student who is visually impaired, math geniuses, amazing readers, and many more. The students continue to amaze me with the ideas they come up with. Needless to say, my first five days in this classroom have not disappointed!

I will be beginning a short unit on division with the class on Wednesday, January 15. The school uses Math Trailblazers, so this is what I will be using for the unit. I have been busy making lesson plans for this as well as constructing assessments. The teacher has also been gracious enough to let me work with reading groups (the school uses LEAD21) as well as teaching some science lessons.

ImageRead more about Math Trailblazers here!

This will surely be an opportunity I will never forget!  

Leave a Reply

